Gina Honored

Posted by on Jan 27, 2017 in Awards, Members | 0 comments

Gina Honored

University Announces Awards

The recipients of the 2017 Presidential Diversity Award are Gina Cuyler, primary care physician and assistant professor of clinical medicine in the Department of Medicine; and Debora McDell-Hernandez, curator of engagement at the Memorial Art Gallery.

The awards were created in 2009 by President and CEO Joel Seligman to recognize faculty, staff, students, units, departments or teams that “demonstrate a commitment to diversity and inclusion through recruitment and retention efforts, teaching, research, multicultural programming, cultural competency, community outreach activities, or other initiatives.”

This year’s winners were chosen from among five nominees who were recommended by their colleagues. Each award includes a $2,500 prize. Individual award winners receive half and designate half to support the budget of a program or department of the winner’s choice; team award winners designate the entire $2,500 prize to the program or department of the team’s choice.

Gina Cuyler

As an alumna and faculty member at the School of Medicine and Dentistry, Cuyler is a powerful advocate for diversifying the face of medicine and providing culturally informed and sensitive care to patients from all backgrounds and cultures. She co-founded the Black Physicians Network of Greater Rochester and has facilitated greater visibility and engagement of the black physician community as mentors and role models for Rochester’s youth.

She mentors students who are a part of the Student National Medical Association, Association of Minority Residents and Fellows, and Healthcare and Technology and Youth Apprenticeship Program. She also collaborates with Gerhardt Neighborhood Outreach Center and Roc City Sicklers to provide school supplies annually. Cuyler is a role model to all healthcare providers in her commitment to improving the diversity in the Rochester medical community and providing excellent medical care to all patients.

l-r: vice provost for faculty development and diversity Vivian Lewis, winners Debora McDell-Hernandez and Dr. Gina Cuyler, and UR president Joel Seligman. // University of Rochester Diversity Awards are presented at Witmer House January 25, 2017. // photo by J. Adam Fenster / University of Rochester

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *